Page 1 of 1

Dynare Installing problems: umfpack + libslicot

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2014 7:52 pm
by dmbn
Hi everyone!

I'm trying to compile dynare 4.4.2 on my rosa linux r3 (64bit) for matlab R2013a. The configure step is
Code: Select all
./configure --with-matlab=/media/Docs/Studium/matlab MATLAB_VERSION=8.1

But I'm getting the error
Code: Select all
configure: error: Can't find UMFPACK
configure: error: ./configure failed for mex/build/octave

I've been trying it with
Code: Select all
--with-umfpack=/usr/include/suitesparse
, but the error is still remaining.
Umfpack is installed (lib64umfpack-devel, lib64umfpack5.6.1 packages), so I have no idea what to do. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:19 am
by SébastienVillemot
It looks like your Linux distribution uses a layout for SuiteSparse libraries that is currently not supported by Dynare. But we can probably find a workaround.

Can you please locate the UMFPACK library on your machine, and list the contents of the directory where it is located? The library is probably called libumfpack.a or libumfpack.so.X.

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:52 pm
by dmbn
this problem has been solved in the following way (in june on the 64bit os):

1) place the file dynare-4.4.2-umfpack-detection.patch in the dynare-4.4.2 parent folder
2)
Code: Select all
cat ../dynare-4.4.2-umfpack-detection.patch | patch -p1

3) choose /path/to/dynare-4.4.2/mex/build/octave.configure.ac
4)
Code: Select all
cd mex/build/octave

5)
Code: Select all
autoreconf

6)
Code: Select all
 cd -

7)
Code: Select all
 ./configure --with-matlab=/path/to/matlab MATLAB_VERSION=7.14


but now (on the 32bit os) the configuring script misses the SLICOT library:
Binaries (with "make"):
Code: Select all
 MEX files for Octave (except those listed below):                   yes
 MS-SBVAR MEX files for Octave:                                      yes
 Kalman Steady State MEX file for Octave:                            no (missing SLICOT)
 k-order and dynare_simul MEX for Octave:                            yes
 Linsolve for Octave:                                                no (Octave >= 3.8)


Therefore the following make process cannot be finished without errors.

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack + libslicot

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 1:45 pm
by SébastienVillemot
dmbn: you forgot to attach your patch.

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack + libslicot

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:36 pm
by dmbn
I attached the patch in an archive, because attaching patch-files is not allowed.

I tried to install dynare 4.4.2 from source files on a 32-bit machine with pae-core, but after the command
Code: Select all
make
I get the error
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lGL
. But the package
Code: Select all
libgl-devel-9.2.4-4-rosa2012.1.i586
is already installed... why that?

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack + libslicot

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:09 pm
by SébastienVillemot
Thanks for the patch. I think it is however too specific for your distribution, and may break things on other setups.

Ideally we should rewrite this logic in a more generic way that handles nicely static libraries.

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack + libslicot

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:35 am
by martinclem
SébastienVillemot wrote:Thanks for the patch. I think it is however too specific for your distribution, and may break things on other setups.

Ideally we should rewrite this logic in a more generic way that handles nicely static libraries.


So is this issue resolved?

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack + libslicot

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 7:07 am
by leontro
¡Hello!

I have the same problem. My SO is OpenSUSE 13.2. The library is located in: /usr/lib64/libumfpack-5.6.2.so I would like to know what can I do?
Thank you.

Re: Dynare Installing problems: umfpack + libslicot

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:52 am
by HoutanBastani
Unfortunately, we lack the resources to make dynare compilation work on all systems. As Sebastien said, dmbn's patch is too specific to be integrated into the dynare repository as is.

Thus, this would require more work on your part. In general, when configuration fails, you should look at config.log and find the error. Here, config.log is located in mex/build/octave. Near where the error is found, you will find a simple program that was compiled to generate the error as well as the compilation command that was issued. It is then up to you to find the modifications necessary to the compilation command that will compile the simple program on your system. Once you have done this, you can modify the configure script to make it run through. Please post your patch here as dmbn did to help others that may encounter the same problem on your system.